Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to top


RCS Student Achievement Awards 2016

Rachel O' Connor | On 24, May 2016 in News,
RCS Student Achievement Awards 2016

A big huge thank you to Ms. M Walsh on an Awards afternoon to remember!!!!

On Monday last the students of Ramsgrange Community School, together with parents and staff, celebrated their fantastic achievements over the academic year 2015/2016. The school gymnasium was packed to capacity with eager students and parents awaiting nominations and possible victory in the 70 awards categories being recognised by the staff and management of the school.

We were thrilled to welcome past pupil and GAA star PJ Banville who returned for the afternoon to present the awards. Also joining us were the “High Hopes and Peace Choir” from Waterford, who filled the gymnasium with beautiful song and strong messages about homelessness, drug addiction and the importance of education and making informed decisions in our lives.

The following is a list of some of the victorious students…

  • Whole School fundraising initiatives for various charities: over €24,000
  • Junior sportsperson of the year: Adam Waters
  • Senior Sportsperson of the year: Siobhán Rowe (presented by last year’s winner and sister of Siobhán, Fiona Rowe)
  • Junior Hurler of the year: Adam Waters
  • Senior hurler of the year: Conor Drohan
  • Camogie Player of the year: Megan Murphy
  • U14 Footballer of the year: Keelan Foley
  • U16 ½ Footballer of the year: Arán Murphy
  • Junior rugby payers of the year: Nicole Keating & Craig Bradley
  • Senior rugby players of the year: Megan Murphy & Michael Whelan
  • U15 Soccer Player of the year: Owen Whitty
  • U19 Soccer Player of the year: Ibraham Ali
  • Mile Challenge Winner: Caroline Butler Hallissey & Ronan Prendergast
  • Table Tennis Champion: Arán Murphy
  • Best Junior Cert 2015: Sophia Bailliuel
  • Best Leaving Cert 2015: John Colfer
  • 1st year student of the year: Caleb cullen
  • 2nd year student of the year: Evelyn Stebbing
  • 3rd year student of the year: Sam Elliot
  • LCA1 student of the year: Laura Lee O’ Sullivan
  • 5th year student of the year: Siobhán McGrath
  • 6th year/ LCA2 student of the year: Conor O’ Sullivan
  • Girls Basketball Awards: Julia Archowska/ Eimear Gabbett/ Laura Cullen/ Lydia Hickey
  • Boys Basketball Awards: Tomás Barron/ Owen Whitty/ Devin Wall Walsh/ Eoghan Quigley
  • 3rd Woodwork- Best Project 2016: Shane Byrne
  • 6th Construction- Best Project: Clyde McNamara
  • 3rd year Metal Work: Jacob Ferguson
  • 6th year Engineering: Ciarán O’ Brien
  • 3rd year Needlework: Alison Molloy
  • Art Awards: Connor Byrne/ Lydia Hickey/ Olivia Furlong
  • Linguist Awards: Leah O’Connell/ Sarah Miskella/ Chloe Waters
  • C.V.P: Megan Walsh/ Emily Kelly/ Caroline Butler Hallissey
  • Enterprise: Arán Murphy/ Emma Behan

Other categories included Computer Coding, Linguistics Olymiad, Student council, Library and Archives, Catering, Meitheal, Prefects, Lourdes, Green Schools, Make a Book Initiative, LearnStorm Maths  Finalists

IMG_8729 IMG_8730 IMG_8731 IMG_8733 IMG_8739 IMG_8741 IMG_8751 IMG_8756 IMG_8758 IMG_8760 IMG_8762 IMG_8763 IMG_8764 IMG_8767 IMG_8769 IMG_8770 IMG_8772 IMG_8774IMG_8777 IMG_8782 IMG_8792 IMG_8800 IMG_8802 IMG_8806 IMG_8809 IMG_8815 IMG_8816IMG_8820 IMG_8822 IMG_8824 IMG_8827 IMG_8830 IMG_8832 IMG_8838 IMG_8843 IMG_8845 IMG_8846 IMG_8849 IMG_8851 IMG_8854 IMG_8858 IMG_8859 IMG_8861 IMG_8865 IMG_8867